Kofi's hat

Kofi's hat

MP3s, music news and reviews, and a sprinkling of pop culture. Named by Aqualung's Matt Hales, after his son.

My Photo
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States

Ink in my blood, a song in my heart. Metaphor is my middle name.

Wednesday, September 27, 2006

More Depeche Mode Reissues, CD/DVD Sets

Three more Depeche Mode albums, A Broken Frame, Some Great Reward, and Songs of Faith and Devotion have been remastered and will be reissued on October 3rd in both regular CD versions and in a CD/DVD set. The 2-disc sets include the regular album (Rhino toyed with the idea of not including it, but focus groups reacted angrily). Plus, at no addit-well, let's not get silly, of course there's an additional charge. For a total cost of about $24.98, each set has a DVD containing several bonus tracks, as well as a 27-minute movie about the album including new interviews with Depeche Mode.

This is the second round of Depeche reissues from Rhino Records. Violator, Music For The Masses, and Speak And Spell were already given the Remaster-and-Reissue Deluxe treatment in June.

Depeche Mode's The Best Of, Vol. 1 will be released November 13 in the U.K. and the following day in the U.S. with a CD and DVD available separately. Single "Martyr", taken from the collection, will be released October 30 in traditional formats and digitally any moment now. Anyone who expresses disappointment in it may be kidding, or hate the synth-heavy music. Or catchy music. Reasonable minds may differ, of course... but I think "Martyr" is excellent, and 4 out of 5 experts agree: my mind is more reasonable than most.

Note: EZarchive was down, so the songs are posted to YSI, sorry about that.

A Broken Frame Track Listing:

1. Leave In Silence
2. My Secret Garden
3. Monument
4. Nothing To Fear
5. See You
6. Satellite
7. The Meaning Of Love
8. A Photograph Of You
9. Shouldn't Have Done That
10. The Sun And The Rainfall

DVD-Only Bonus Tracks:

11. My Secret Garden
12. See You (Live, Hammersmith 1982)
13. Satellite (Live, Hammersmith 1982)
14. Nothing To Fear (Live, Hammersmith 1982)
15. The Meaning of Love (Live, Hammersmith 1982)
16. A Photograph of You (Live, Hammersmith 1982)
17. Now This Is Fun
18. Oberkorn (It's A Small Town)
19. Excerpt From: My Secret Garden
And a Short Film, "Depeche Mode: 1982 (The beginning of their so-called dark phase)" (27 min.)

Some Great Reward Track Listing:

1. Something To Do
2. Lie To Me
3. People Are People
4. It Doesn't Matter
5. Stories Of Old
6. Somebody
7. Master And Servant
8. If You Want
9. Blasphemous Rumours

DVD-Only Bonus Tracks:

10. If You Want (Live)
11. People Are People (Live)
12. Somebody (Live)
13. Blasphemous Rumours (Live)
14. Master And Servant (Live)
15. In Your Memory
16. (Set Me Free) Remotivate Me ("Master and Servant" B-side, available on Singles Box, Vol. 2)
17. Somebody (Remix)
And A Short Film, "Depeche Mode: 1984 (You can get away with anything if you give it a good tune)" (27 min.)

Songs Of Faith And Devotion Track Listing:

1. I Feel You
2. Walking In My Shoes
3. Condemnation
4. Mercy In You
5. Judas
6. In Your Room
7. Get Right With Me
8. Rush
9. One Caress
10. Higher Love

DVD-Only Bonus Tracks:

11. My Joy
12. Condemnation (Paris Mix)
13. Death's Door (Jazz Mix)
14. In Your Room (Zephyr Mix)
15. I Feel You (Life's Too Short Mix)
16. Walking In My Shoes (Grungy Gonads Mix) ("Walking In My Shoes" B-side, available on Singles Box, Vol. 5)
17. My Joy (Slowslide Mix)
18. In Your Room (Apex Mix)
And A Short Film, "Depeche Mode: 1991-94 (We were going to live together, record together and it was going to be wonderful)" (27 min.)


Post a Comment

<< Home